OCP Task Force named

The City of Penticton has named the 12 members of the Official Community Plan Task Force who will represent the community-at-large. “We had an outstanding response to the call for volunteers,” says Mayor Andrew Jakubeit. “We received 50 applications from an exceptionally qualified and diverse group of people.”

Candidates were selected based on their experience in the following areas:

  • Agriculture and food systems

  • Architecture/green architecture/urban design/landscape architecture

  • Land use planning

  • Environmental issues

  • Heritage, arts and culture

  • Housing with an emphasis on affordable working family housing

  • Parks and recreation, sports, leisure activities

  • Youth/student

  • Seniors

  • Transportation

  • Infrastructure

Although the community positions of the Task Force are filled, there will be many opportunities for interested citizens to be involved. “We were very impressed with the depth of knowledge and will invite all applicants to be involved in the process, especially where their expertise will be valuable,” says Mayor Jakubeit. “All residents will also have the opportunity to be involved through activities such as workshops and open houses.”

The Task Force also includes representation from key community and government organizations. Appointments for these positions have also been named. Any open positions and the two Council representatives will be confirmed at the April 4 Council meeting. Citizens can stay informed and learn about the opportunities to get involved at shapeyourcitypenticton.ca.

Task Force members

  • Regional District of the Okanagan Similkameen: Evelyn Riechert

  • School District No. 67: Wendy Hyer

  • Penticton Indian Band: TBD

  • Penticton & Wine Country Chamber of Commerce: TBD

  • Downtown Penticton Association: Lynn Allin

  • Interior Health: Kristi Estergaard

  • Penticton Industrial Development Association: Jill Bateman

    Community representatives:

  • Garrett Cruikshank

  • Sharon Fletcher

  • Lynn Kelsey

  • Randy Kowalchuk

  • Randy Manuel

  • Suzanne Moccia

  • Dennis O’Gorman

  • Warren Sanders

  • Bruce Schoenne

  • Rhys Spencer

  • Brian Symonds

  • Jillian Tamblyn

Council representatives: (TBD)

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

Consultation has concluded

<span class="translation_missing" title="translation missing: en.projects.blog_posts.show.load_comment_text">Load Comment Text</span>